Nick Maggiore has passed away

I’m afraid I have the unfortunate task to inform you all about the sudden death of Nicholas David Maggiore, yesterday afternoon, April 16, 2011. Nick was hospitalised a few days before the end of March due to a terrible illness he’s been suffering from since a long time and was subject to a medical treatment that unfortunately didn’t work. His mother has reported that yesterday he died due to bacterial meningitis.

Nick didn’t grow up in an easy environment: Italian origins, raised in New York, his parents divorced when he was 10, and he grew up with his mother outside the Big Apple. Until the moment in which his mother received a promotion, he felt the financial crisis and the bad sides of the American dream. However, when he was 14, things started to get better.

Nick joined St.Charlie on August 26, 2009, and applied for the St.Charlian Observer. He was the reporter of the Observergate, the Ambassadorial Council, the Grand Unified Micronational, he was the journalist of the young and growing MicroWiki Community, when Erusia was still the prominent, loved and feared, micronation, and when the St.Charlian Observer was competing against the Erusia Central News. When he became Director of the Observer, in November 2009, Nick turned a famous micronational paper into one of the best and most read  newspapers in the community and the micronational world. His writing stile was recognised as one of the best ones we had around at the time. Until the day he passed away, he was seen by many as a great journalist and micronationalist.

Speaking without knowing perfectly about his family situation is uncalled for. Therefore I won’t do it. I will just remember Nick, the man who used to lurk the internet, known with its name or as “Tzar Nick”.

Nick was a phobic guy, fastidious about his newspaper. When reading the drafts, he complained about every possible mistake. When we had to publish the edition on the General Elections, he was nervous and picky. Everything needed an explanation for him, whatever its importance, both in micro and micronational life. He just wanted things to be perfect for everyone. Last time I spoke to him was in the first days of March, it was night time for me, and he wanted to share a few thoughts. Nick always had those philosophical moments resulting from parties or dates with other guys, which I loved because they were always full of considerations about our existence. Once he told me that you can understand how much a person loves you by the way the hands you a cigarette. At first it seemed like a strange sentence, but then I understood what he meant.

I knew him pretty well. When we were both online on Facebook, we spoke about everything, our issues, micronationalim, our lives, our school, my intention to become a diplomat and his dream of attending the Carter Journalism Institute at the NYU. His real passion was Journalism: you could ask him about the Watergate scandal and he would have told you everything. That’s also another reason why he loved it when we called it the “Observergate”, or the “Eurogate”. When we spoke that day, the very last time I heard of him, he told me he was sick, but didn’t want to tell me what it was, and made me promise that I wouldn’t have told anyone, which I respected. His mother broke the silence days after his 18th birthday. Coincidentally, during the same time he was nominated for the Schneiders, but I was unable to say a word about his health.

Let’s try not to forget him. Let’s make sure that the places he liked, the websites he visited, the things he loved, the values he supported, aren’t forgotten.

Comments
25 Responses to “Nick Maggiore has passed away”
  1. My sincere condolences. 😦

  2. Philip Fish says:

    That’s terrible – RIP 😦 We will miss your articles.

  3. James Puchowski/ Landashir'n Government says:

    Thank you Nick for your contributions to the community. You will be of course missed by all of us. 😦

  4. I do not have enough words for the loss of this young micronationalist. My thoughts go out to his family, friends and St. Charlie. our sincere condolences

  5. My condolences to his family and to St. Charlie.

  6. escitrargov says:

    At Escitrar and in any micronation our populations are small and its not great when you lose a citizen. But when its because that person died, its so much more than the loss of a number on your nation page. My sincere condolences, Mr. Maggiore, and good luck wherever you go. Rest in peace.

    “When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.” – Kahlil Gibran

    • Secundomia says:

      Well Said, Samuel.

      This is a sad moment in our communities history, and the history of St. Charlie. Our sincerest condolences to St. Charlies citizens, and Nick Maggiore’s friends and family.

  7. Mark Williams II says:

    I don’t know how to say how sad I feel about his death. I will see about naming a holiday after him in Freedomia. You will not be forgotten Nick, I assure you!

  8. That’s awful… 😦 My condolences, it’s never easy to lose someone close to you.

  9. The most sincere condolences go to his family and St. Charlie from myself. I hope that none of us would even think of forgetting Mr. Maggiore. He shall always be remembered here; body and spirit.

  10. King Jackson Alexander says:

    I know all we have had bad relationship, but I still feel sorry and give my most sincere condolences to his family and all of St. Charlie, may he go to a place were he will feel no more pain. He will be remembered.

  11. I offer my deepest and most sincere condolences to the St.Charlian people and Mr. Maggiore’s family in this terrible time. He was a wonderful journalist who deserved every ounce of praise he earnt, and it is a terrible shame to learn of his passing. Having lost a friend myself in very tragic circumstances, I know that this can be a traumatic and crippling time. Kia kaha – stay strong, and may his memory live on.

  12. HIH Crown Prince Jonathan says:

    I offer the deepest and most sincere condolences of the Austenasian and Orlian Governments to the family and friends of Mr. Maggiore. My thoughts go out to his family and to the people of St.Charlie at this terrible time. He will always be remembered.

  13. Lyam Desmet says:

    Nick was a great example for micronational journalism. On behalf of the crew of the Gazet of Giddis I offer my condolences to his friends and family.
    Thank you Nick for the beautiful articles.

  14. Peter Bralesford / Egtavia says:

    Sincere and lasting condolences from everyone in Egtavia at this awful event.

  15. Maarten van Arkel says:

    I already told Mr Reinhardt, but now in public:
    On behalf of the Flandrensian Government, my sincere condolences on this horrible, terrible and shocking news.
    We praise Nick for everything he did in the Community. We are very grateful for his work on the Observer and his masterpieces of texts. It was a gifted writer. I fully support the words of Alexander: let’s try not to forget him.
    In the old empire of Babylonia they said: “You die twice, first you die and then you are forgotten”. Let’s prevent him a second death. Nick, thank you.

  16. Although Bethania and Saint Charlie have a complicated relationship, I hope that we can forget that for now as Bethania offers her condolences to the Federal Republic as they cope with this terrible tragedy. I hope that he receives the best form of whatever afterlife there may be.

  17. Starland says:

    Our sincerest condolences! 😦

  18. Patryk Adam Bronisz says:

    I don’t know what to do nowadays…don’t know what to say. My private and ministerial condolence to Alexander as his friend, to Nick’s family and to his partner. It’s the third great person who died in St.Charlie 😦

    I found his last article and that’s it: https://stcharlianobserver.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/eat-at-nicks-days-of-tumult/#comments We’ll miss of “eat at Nicks” corner.

    You forgot to add that we have 3 days of national mourning in St.Charlie.

  19. Bradley of Dullahan says:

    As god walks on mysterious ways, lets all dream and hope Mr. Maggiore is on a better place.

    As for the pain of the family will remain, his soul has a home in there hearts. On earth there will be a certainty of a nasty rain.

    Rest in peace Dea Maggiore, for you have shown us something to read, even if it was offiencive or funny, we always enjoyed it, letter by letter.

    Nick and i may not have been on the same page but his contributions to this community and to St. Charlie will not be invane nor forgotten, i ensure you. for he was one of the Micronationalists that makes st. Charlie what it is today.

    This man deserves a price and such he shall gain, the apple tree in Xtabay, will be known as the Maggiore Tree in the honour of a great good man.

    Good men die young in this cruel unfair world.

    Enough of my words, silence will be next.

    Condolences from the whole Kingdom of Wyvern,

    Bradley of Dullahan.

  20. Ciprian I says:

    Deep condoleances from Juclandia!

    Is so sad when someone is dieing…A soul is passing away, and it will remain only in our hearths.

    😦 😦 😦

  21. Alex Pate says:

    The Republic of Patetopia sends it’s deepest condolences. It is indeed very sad and tragic news.

  22. King Anthony says:

    On behalf of the Zealandian People and myself I send the Family and St. Charlie our deepest heartfelt condolences, though I did not know him personally, I enjoyed his writing for he was the best Journalist this community has had and he more than deserved the praise he was given. Though my words will do nothing to heal the pain as only time will heal them I hope that his Family and St. Charlie can take comfort in them. I truly hope that his memory may live on. Kia kaha – Stay Strong and may we never forget his memory

  23. Very sad, RIP i hope people will reflect on this and maybe with help us all grow even in the face of death.

  24. Bubba Marra says:

    Although the Sandbars no longer exists, and the Eccentric Kingdom of Arentalea has not yet been founded, I as a person wish Nick a plentiful afterlife.

    RIP Nick Maggiore

    1993-2011

    Sorry if I got his birth year wrong, I just put together bits and pieces and other clues.

    St. Charlie is in serious need of a pick-me-up right now, so here you go:

    🙂

Leave a comment