Reinhardt’s Corner: lessons on micronationalism

And why people should shut up and listen to Niels from time to time.

After taking a look at all the articles published in the last days, I do not expect many people to comment this article, although it would make me feel better about the current state of things. Needless to say, I will not spend waste my time commenting on the current “Kozuc issue” as basically everyone did so and I personally have better things to talk about.

To all of you people who have spent the last days criticising one side of the argument, have you watched Niels of Flandrensis’ speech for the third anniversary of the Grand Duchy? Entirely?

If not, I order you to do it now, because it happens to be a great speech. Flandrensis is a micronation we should look at with respect: “surviving” for more than a year without government reforms or sudden inactivity is very hard for a micronation. So, imagine what surviving for three years is. Niels sat there, with the flag behind, and talked about what went on in the last years, and the more I listened to him, the more my smile started to fade out. He was basically saying that their way to deal with things, compared to others who disappeared, made them what they are now. And he was right.

So what is the real issue then? In the last days we’ve been discussing about how things are going bad, despite the fact that we’ve been always doing so. Eventually, after what Mr. Puglisi from Tiana wrote this morning, I came up with a small conclusion about the current state of things, which I believe should be taken into account:

Joseph is a very good guy, and I like having him around inside the Micropolitan Lounge and the St.Charlian Commonwealth, however, on one part of his comment, he talks about how things are being a pain right now. Personally, I don’t see the current situation as something that should lead to stress. In fact, I think we should actually benefit from what’s going on (for the rest, I agree with his article).

Why, you might ask? Well, I’ve always liked to observe new micronationalists, and right now, I see some nice projects going around, which makes me happy because it means that not everything is doomed. Take Ricard Êuví, and his micronation, Berin. The guy participates a lot, seems committed, and doesn’t talk about things he doesn’t know about, which is a quality that only a few people have these days. How cool is that? Or how about Lucas Mello? A young and promising Nemkhav politician who I have sometimes the pleasure to speak with on Skype.

You see, it’s not about how the situation is, but what we can learn from the mistakes we make, which can be therefore seen as a benefit. I am sure that the recent Kozuc-Sandus issue taught us that each micronation has the right to do what it wants between its borders, whether it is banning walruses, or cutting off diplomatic ties. And I think this is what we need to teach to the newcomers: not how falling off a bike hurts, but how we can try better next time, just by learning from that fall.

Comments
One Response to “Reinhardt’s Corner: lessons on micronationalism”
  1. Lyam Desmet says:

    One of your best articles I have read!

Leave a Reply

