Reinhardt’s Corner: the Rotary Club of MicroWiki

Where secret plans are revealed to the powerful guys.

We’re going through a period in which Skype is recognized in our community as the fastest and best way of “personal communication” between micronationalists: several members of the forum are encouraged to get Skype, and not always for calls, but rather for chatting. Skype first came out thanks to an idea I had a long time ago while still working at the Grand Unified Micronational, when I once talked to Bob Lethler about a better way to have weekly meetings (also because, if I recall correctly, the chatroom we were using at the time was laggy and always under maintenance). Several people then installed Skype and despite the fact we never used it for the Sunday GUM venue, more and more people started to show up. Eventually, Will Sörgel created, around at the end of 2009, a group chatroom that included several GUM members. That later became what is today known as the “Micropolitan Lounge”, a sort of virtual, imaginary gentleman’s club with restricted access. Indeed, members must be voted by the ones who are inside the room if they can be invited or not, contrary to other existing chatrooms.

The rest, then, is history: due to some arguments and the arrival of new micronationalists, other chatrooms were formed, such as the MicroUniverse, which pretty much includes all the MicroWiki members that have Skype, the Antipolitan, a sort of room that is full of jealous people because they’re not part of the MicroPolitan (yes yes, I am joking), the Yellow Bear Micronational, OAM Official Chatroom, TASPAC, etc. Each of them are generally formed by different people and have their own history, however, if I might say, the MicroPolitan beats them all: it has its own set of rules, respected by its members, and, from what I’ve seen, it’s the only chatroom in which you can carry out a serious conversation. Recent and varied criticism of said room convinced me that an article about the MicroPolitan was probably needed, as I’ve always been part of the room since its foundation and can assure you more than anybody else that we might be the “Rotary Club” of MicroWiki, but we’re surely not its “Illuminati group”.

The Micropolitan Lounge counts nineteen members, five of them don’t post regularly and aren’t really that active in its discussions. The list includes old and “not-so-popular-unfortunately-but-respected” micronationalists such as Jamie Sutherland of Francisville, Declan I of Wilcsland, or Jacob Tierney of Renasia (now part of Egtavia). We usually discuss about random themes, such as politics, or even our personal lives, and obviously micronationalism. It is obvious that sometimes an argument over a certain micronation, or current event, comes out, but nothing was ever “planned” as people supposed many times. Marka Mejakhansk is part of the room, people, and he surely wouldn’t assist at a conspiracy without negatively reacting to it in public, or warning others. I would do it too, so therefore, forget about evil plans.

For those who are interested in joining, everyone is entitled to. They just need to ask someone who’s already part of the chat to ask everyone if he can be invited or not. If a majority is reached, welcome to the club. Yeah, it’s a bit like the Rotary, except for the humanitarian aid and the shiny pins.

But not everyone is accepted, which is probably the main reason why everyone sees the MicroPolitan as an elitist club of snob twits: because not everyone is allowed to join, because it’s formed by the “old school”, and because we discuss serious things sometimes, contrary to the other chatrooms, if I might say. Yes, it’s not always a good thing, as it creates a sort of division between those who can join and those who can’t. However, restrictions in this case are good: apart from the fact that I don’t need to load 1500 messages everytime I log in, it also prevents pointless spam discussions or Parker I’s senseless outbursts (like in the OAM Chatroom). It’s a cleaner environment, period, and strangely enough, we don’t spend our time trying to rig the Influence Survey like someone else (OH OH OH!).

I hope I cleared all doubts about the MicroPolitan, and if you need any other information, just leave a comment or send me a message.

Comments
31 Responses to “Reinhardt’s Corner: the Rotary Club of MicroWiki”
  1. Parker_I says:

    *eyeroll*

  2. ”and, from what I’ve seen, it’s the only chatroom in which you can carry out a serious conversation.”

    Oh, that’s why ‘prominent’ members of the Micropolitan at the time called Bradley ‘a micronational toilet seat’ (Frederic Bayer) and ‘a jack ass’ (Will Sörgel), subsequently throwing me out when I decided that it was no more than decent to let Bradley know about their insults.

    • If Will thinks Bradley is a jackass and Freddo the Troll calls him the “toilet seat” (yeah, bare in mind it’s always Fred that we’re talking about), not everyone forcedly agrees with it or supports their opinions on Bradley. If you look at it this way, I could find one day a discussion on MicroUniverse about me and say that everyone attacked me.

      • Bradley of Dullahan says:

        Well it shows that this chatroom isnt a gentlemans club as many who were in it at that time agreed.

        sorry to contradict you but that chatroom is the last place on earth I would step foot in. Chatting with Will Soergel is imposseble so how you can commune with him is a wonder.

    • I would also like to state that if you would like to rejoin, that you may. Infact, I do believe that I would rather support such a motion. So, please, check the credibility of the underlying accusations you bring against me, Your Majesty.

      • Thank you for your friendly response. However, I do not know what you mean by underlying accusations. All that I have knowingly accused you of was that certain members – you included – appeared to gang up on me and removed me from the conversation when I said I’d let Bradley see the logs where you called him such names.

      • King Quentin I of Wyvern :
        Thank you for your friendly response. However, I do not know what you mean by underlying accusations. All that I have knowingly accused you of was that certain members – you included – appeared to gang up on me and removed me from the conversation when I said I’d let Bradley see the logs where you called him such names.

        Yes, and such would be the accusation that you give against me, that so states that I would bar any relations with Wyvern in the room.

    • Ben says:

      Well, you could use G30. Similarly to MPL, not anyone can join, but unlike MPL, anyone in the top 30 of the influence survey can join.

  3. It’s not really what it’s about – it’s just that the discussion consisted of ganging up, insulting, threatening and removing me from the conversation. Of all chatrooms I’ve been in, the Micropolitan was by far the most insulting to me.

    • Yeah, but you’re implying that everyone in the chatroom is like that and that members always do this kind of stuff.

      • Actually, I believe that it’s a rather rare case that we do that. It must be something controversial or bad if we do it. I can only remember a second time where this happened, and that was when I gave M. Fowler the ultimatum. But, look at the Micropolitan now- now M. Fowler’s a good and respected member of the “club”.

  4. No – but pretty much all active members certainly did in the short amount of time I was there.

    • Things obviously change. Last spring, Sandus disliked Wyvern together. Now, we just dislike Bradley because we understand that you’re not as crazy as him.

      • Parker_I says:

        Wow. Just wow.

      • Bradley of Dullahan says:

        Crazy? Sorry with all do resprect your the one who leaves in the heat of a discussion, doesnt respect other opinions and called me names first and posts ultimatums..

        And you call ME crazy?

        I Laugh at the accusation..

  5. Personally, I don’t think MPL is even that exclusive. I’m a member, Andre Sammut is, and it’s not like it’s some kind of consipiracy. The conversations are just… normal. I don’t know what people find wrong with it. Anyone who isn’t OVERLY insane can probably make it in.

  6. Ciprian I says:

    I lol’d.

  7. Parker_I says:

    veritumsandus :
    Actually, I believe that it’s a rather rare case that we do that. It must be something controversial or bad if we do it. I can only remember a second time where this happened, and that was when I gave M. Fowler the ultimatum. But, look at the Micropolitan now- now M. Fowler’s a good and respected member of the “club”.

    That’s only because he eventually accepted, and did what you wanted. You manipulated him, and he complied.

    • That couldn’t be any farther from the truth. He never did what I wanted, he never gave up Frederic until after he was banned, and even when I was arranging for him to return, he said he would never give him up. It wasn’t until after Frederic left on his own accord that Sandus and Zealandia were amiable again. Indeed, Zealandia was in the room during this. M. Fowler nor His government ever complied with Sandus’ action to remove Frederic from the nation, so perhaps one should check their story’s and accusation’s validity before charging them against another.

  8. Parker, to put it plainy, you sound like a complete idiot who has no idea of what he’s talking about. The MPL is just a skype chatroom and isn’t the lair of the evil dictators of the community. You make a big deal out of it.

  9. King Anthony says:

    Parker_I :

    veritumsandus :
    Actually, I believe that it’s a rather rare case that we do that. It must be something controversial or bad if we do it. I can only remember a second time where this happened, and that was when I gave M. Fowler the ultimatum. But, look at the Micropolitan now- now M. Fowler’s a good and respected member of the “club”.

    That’s only because he eventually accepted, and did what you wanted. You manipulated him, and he complied.

    Parker have you had your head under a rock or in a sandpit, von Linden was a troll whom had to go (See the Crown and von Linden (KOZ MfS Trial)) he was a treasonous leach whom was not only harming the community but Zealandia it’s self he was our worst First Minister and yes Puchowski’s administration is still working to undo his damage, Mr. Soergel did not in anyway manipulate me

  10. Max Kasbar says:

    the Microwiki Freedom Committee has decided that this “Micronational rotary club”, or whatever you call it, is a micronational New World Order scheme.

    P.S. the Microwiki Freedom Committee calls for all Microwiki admins to just be good janitors, not abusive people.

  11. King Anthony says:

    Oh and Mr. Parker I would suggest you take a look through the Zealandian Times and Watch all World News Zealandia Episodes before commenting on my actions

  12. Max Kasbar says:

    I’m a traditional Roman Catholic.

  13. Max Kasbar says:

    & the Rotary club is a business/Masonic club, & you’re saying that, whatever you’re talking about, it’s like a micronational Rotary Club.

    & I’m against the Illuminati.

  14. Bradley of Dullahan says:

    By the way Soergel, the ”dislike” is shared. We agree on one thing, we hate eachother and MY WORD i will never enter that idiotic club of yours.

    Deffending what some lunatics told about me in there behind my back is a token of the illness of that room. But everyone is free to enter, i do not hold hate or dismay on those in it other than Sandus ofcourse.

  15. lala says:

    Wow. I only recently discovered about micronationalism. At first I thought it was pretty cool, so I tried to join one as a citizen.But the rules to join were pretty strict, which is sorta weird for something that’s supposed to be fun. The more research I look up on it, the more I just see a bunch of grown-ups acting like high school brats.

    It’s like hunting for a safe table a lunch!

Leave a Reply

