Eat at Nicks: Dear Bradley

I decided to write a letter instead of making a full statement. As Schneider and Reinhardt said on the joint address, this is something between him and me, and therefore, the letter below is addressed particularly to him.

Dear Senator, may I call you Bradley?

I know you hate me right now. I am sure that if I was right in front of you, you would probably grab a stone and throw it at my face because of what has been going on between us in the last days. I personally think that both of us are responsible for what is going on, but since I was the one asked for the formal apologies, I shall do so in public, on my newspaper.

I wish I could write this letter in Dutch so that you could perceive fully my words; don’t get me wrong, I am not saying this because I am trying to offend you, believe me, but just because I am expressing my true feelings now and I wish you could perceive all my words, even the less significant ones.

I read back what I wrote on my article, and although my words didn’t really insult you, they made somehow fun of your disorder, maybe not in a very harsh and cruel way, as someone tried to show them, but in a biting, clever and in some matter mischievous way. I didn’t think about this until I realized, this morning, during my History test, that the same thing was done to me not long ago.

Maybe you are already aware that I’m homosexual. Now I am not trying to sound like a victim or someone that needs a hug, but I’d like to tell you about a recent episode that happened to me: a few weeks ago I was coming back from school when I was approached by a small gang. They started to laugh at me, make fun of me, make jokes about me, about my sexuality, about how I maybe had a crush on them. I just ignored their words, and kept on walking, until one of them, who noticed I was not giving them any attention, grabbed me by the backpack and slammed me on a wall. He watched me right in the eyes and told me, in a cold voice, to get out of their “hood”.

When I made it home, obviously after running away from them, I didn’t feel scared; just really infuriated, because they went on me only because I was gay. I just couldn’t believe it, and decided to “delete” it from my memory, though a bit of that anger can be read on some of my articles about the day against homophobia.

However, thinking back of this episode this morning, I became conscious of how it was linked with what I did to you: we were both attacked because of how we are, because of something that is in our blood.

I might not agree with your political beliefs, nor with the way you also jumped on the St. Charlian Government, but I really, really apologize if you were offended by what I wrote days ago about your disorder. My intention was certainly not to pique you, and as I said I was not aware of your handicap, but from what I can see, you didn’t appreciate it, and since my work as a journalist is to inform and amuse my readers, I realized that I made a big mistake.

I did not become aware of this through the criticisms of others, as my intention in the beginning was not to write an apology to you, but I became aware of it through reasoning and the words of a great friend of mine that calmed me down, since in the beginning I couldn’t understand why everyone was so upset for those two words I wrote about it. Just to give you an idea, I wasn’t even hungry at lunch, because I had that feeling on my stomach, when you’re afraid for someone. I was concerned for how you felt about my words, “dude”.😉

Please accept my words as a sign of friendship, and if you’re willing to have a chat with me, just send me a letter on Facebook; I would be more than glad to have a conversation with you, maybe not forcedly about what has been going on between us in the last days, but just as a way to discuss and share our views.

Yours truly,
Nick

Comments
4 Responses to “Eat at Nicks: Dear Bradley”
  1. Philip Fish says:

    Well put. This apology is overdue but well done.

  2. Bjorn Olsen says:

    Not many people would man up and write such an article so I congratulate you on that. However, I don’t believe you had to apologise at all. The minute we start trying to santion newspapers is the day Micronationalism starts to rapidly decline.

  3. Bradley says:

    Nick, you most of all people may call me Bradley, I accept your appology and i want to give you mine appology; Sorry Nick. Lets forget this chapter of misunderstanding and blinding rage.

    Bradley

  4. Flandrensis says:

    Bjorn Olsen :Not many people would man up and write such an article so I congratulate you on that. However, I don’t believe you had to apologise at all. The minute we start trying to santion newspapers is the day Micronationalism starts to rapidly decline.

    I full agree with Mr. Olsen. But like Bradley say: Lets forget this chapter of misunderstanding and blinding rage🙂

Leave a Reply

